Winning At Life 101

  /  Economy   /  Donell Gumiran bags PHL National Award in the Sony World Photography Awards

Donell Gumiran bags PHL National Award in the Sony World Photography Awards

DUBAI-BASED Filipino photographer Donell Gumiran is the National Award winner for the Philippines in the World Photography Organization’s Sony World Photography Awards 2023.

The National Awards program is an initiative set up by the World Photography Organization and Sony to support local photographic communities around the world, with 55 countries taking part this year. Over 415,000 images from over 200 countries and territories were submitted to the Sony World Photography Awards 2023 and over 200,000 were entered to the Open competition (from which the National Awards winner was selected).

PHOTOGRAPHY by Donell Gumiran for 2023 Sony World Photography Awards

According to, Mr. Gumiran is a Design & Senior Art Director based in Dubai. “Every time I press the shutter, it seems like it’s an extension of my personality,” the site quotes Mr. Gumiran as saying. He has received numerous awards, most recently the Tokyo Foto Award, Japan – Gold 2019. In the Philippines, he was a recipient of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts’ Ani ng Dangal Award in 2018 and 2019.

All National Award winners receive Sony digital imaging equipment and will be included in the Sony World Photography Awards exhibition and book.

New to this year’s Awards are four Regional Awards set up by the World Photography Organization and Sony Europe.

The overall winners in the Student, Youth, Open and Professional competitions of the Sony World Photography Awards 2023 will be announced on April 13 and will go on display as part of the exhibition at Somerset House, London from April 14 to May 1.

This year’s National Awards winners are:Austria — Fabian JungBangladesh — Protap Shekhor MohantoCambodia — Chan Sithy HengEgypt — Abdelrahman GabrFrance — Samia BerbicheGermany — Andreas MikonauschkeIndia — Pradeep Kodimana RamakrishnanIndonesia — Mawaruddin MawaruddinJapan — Hajime HiranoRepublic of Korea — Gyu Seob ShimKuwait — Adil JavedMalaysia — Eng Tong TanMyanmar — Si Thu Ye MyintNepal – Rabik UpadhayayNigeria — Nukabari OpuamaPakistan — Yawar AbbasPhilippines — Donell GumiranPoland — Mateusz ŻurowskiQatar — Abdulla AL-MushaifriSaudi Arabia — Mansoor MohsenSingapore — Huazheng HongSouth Africa – Tshabalala BonganiSri Lanka — Rajeev AbeysekaraSwitzerland — Sandra HandschinTaiwan — Leo HuangThailand — Saravut VansetTurkey — Erhan CoralUnited Arab Emirates — Oday ShanshalUnited States — Angela PerezVietnam — Thiện Nguyễn Ngọc

Post a Comment